How will WNC affect me

How will WNC affect me?

What will this mean for me?

In the previous three tier system,  services were split between County, District and Parish Councils.  In the new two tier system, the District councils are abolished leaving one overarching Council for all services with Parish Councils dealing with local issues.   Daventry District Council,  Northampton Borough Council and South Northamptonshire Council will be dissolved into the new West Northamptonshire Council.

Services covered will include:

  • strategic planning 
  • education
  • housing
  • libraries 
  • health and social care/social services,  including Adult and Children’s services 
  • leisure and recreation
  • environmental health
  • waste
  • recycling 
  • planning
  • road maintenance
  • revenue collection

Some of these services will be shared between West and North Northamptonshire Councils

The new structure means that there will no longer be District Councillors in smaller wards,  but Ward Councillors covering larger geographical territories. There are 31 Wards in West Northamptonshire and each ward will have three elected Representatives meaning that there will be 93 elected councillors overall. You can information on your local wards in the “What Are We Doing For You” section of this website.

In most cases,  existing Parish Councils will continue as before with some additional ones being created in some areas as well as a new Northampton Town Council.

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.